Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

keepsmereturning

I hang on words
verbs and adjectives
that distill time’s crazy hold
on my life
souvenirs kept
in spiral bound notebooks
with tiny locks
so easily broken
like dreams
or promises carried forward
from past generations
a chapter neatly finished
but always incomplete
tonight I unplug the yellow bulbs
strung to seasons of evergreen
sons of the tree
that rose silently one year
in splendid happiness
crystalising the summit of my childhood
the night you disappeared
and distress replaced your love
too young then
I neglected to listen to your words
thinking surely you’d be around
to speak them hundreds of other times
and now –
older than you were that year
I’ve forgotten
even the sound of your voice

. . .

Author’s Note: For D.B. & Annie – missing you now