Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

signswhat of ways
I cannot change
a place before is still
what fool to think
the past
is ever done

stirs to life
a chilly night
wakes me up at dawn –
watches from the mirror
in the hall

of all I am
the more I will
be stilled by love endeared
beyond the silken shade
of raven rails

of names
that move my heart to swell
flush my eyes to tear –
memories of life
the river rolls

forever heregentle lines
retracing
across a many mile –
verses once I wrote
and gave away

age returns the seeker
to the place
where truth began –
flush against a baby’s breast
one day

written there
  to stories –
every sorrow
  every kiss – the future
blooms in petals
of the past

what of ways
I cannot change
a place before is still
what fool to think
the best
is ever gone

. . .